Welcome to my website
Home About Photography Blog Other Stuff Contact Me Support My Work

Bellarine Ward - 2020 City of Greater Geelong Council Election

Geelong Index

Geelong Wards:

Bellarine Ward Brownbill Ward Kardinia Ward Windermere Ward

Bellarine Ward


Bellarine Ward takes in most of the Bellarine Peninsula - including the towns of Leopold, Drysdale, Portarlington, St Leonards, Ocean Grove and Barwon Heads.

Bellarine Ward elects three Councillors via the proportional representation method of election.

Incumbent Councillors

Ward Boundaries


Quick Navigation
  Tom O'Connor Ind
  Elise Wilkinson Ind
  Stephanie Asher Ind LIB
  Trent Sullivan Ind LIB
  Naomi Adams AJP
  Jim Mason Ind ALP
  Michael Fairweather Ind
  Cory Wolverton GRN
  Tom Harrison Ind (fmr ALP)
  Stephen John Simmonds Ind

Tom O"ConnorTom O'Connor
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Political Party: Independent

Tom O'Connor has been a resident of the Bellarine for over 40 years. He previously served as a Councillor for the then-Coryule Ward from 2004 to 2008.

Key quote:

"My vision is that the Greater Geelong Council actively seeks and encourages community views, needs and expectations and in turn, delivers on those in a timely manner, such that the results positively build confidence in the quality of life for all."

Tom O"ConnorElise Wilkinson
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Political Party: Independent (Put Climate First)

Elise Wilkinson is a social worker, experienced leader and actor.

Key quote:

"For Greater Geelong to be internationally recognised for innovation, designand engagement that leads the way in cutting carbon emissions by 2030.Sustainable economic growth to support job creation, while protecting thenatural environment and connecting its community."

Stephanie AsherStephanie Asher (Incumbent Councillor)
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Political Party: Liberal

Stephanie Asher is an Ocean Grove resident, moving to the area from Melbourne 20 years ago to raise her family. She runs a management consultancy, providing strategy and policy advice and corporate communications services to a range of government, not-for-profit and ASX-listed clients. Asher is a sustainability strategy and reporting specialist and also the author of the best-selling biography of Susan Alberti AC. She has been a Councillor since the 2017 Council Elections, and has been serving as Mayor since 2019. 

Key quote:


Trent SullivanTrent Sullivan (Incumbent Councillor)
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Political Party: Liberal

Trent Sullivan works in real-estate and has been active within the Liberal Party, having previously served as president of the Geelong Young Liberals. He is also active in multiple sporting clubs, societies and organisations and is involved in charity fundraisers and organising social events  Sullivan has been serving as a Councillor since the 2017 Geelong Council Elections.

Naomi AdamsNaomi Adams
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Political Party: Animal Justice Party

Naomi Adams has been a resident of Ocean Grove for more 10 years. She works as a psychologist and has worked as a counsellor in community health on the Bellarine Peninsula for nine years and more recently in private practice in Geelong. Adams ran as a candidate in the City of Greater Geelong Councl Elections in 2017 and as a candidate for the seat of Bellarine at the 2018 Victorian State Election.

Key quote:


Jim MasonJim Mason (Incumbent Councillor)
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Political Party: Labor

Jim Mason was raised on the Bellarine, studied in Geelong at The Gordon and Deakin, and has a background in civil engineering, and as a teacher in maths and environmental science. Mason also has 25 years of international humanitarian management experience and also operates a farm at Marcus Hill. He has been serving as a Councillor since the 2017 Council Elections.

Key quote:

"I have energetically advocated for The Bellarine, focusing on improved social, cultural and lifestyle amenities, better opportunities for young people, and connected bike and walking tracks. I have fostered the protection of rural, and coastal environments and the unique characters of townships. I again offer maturity and teamwork along with an independent, consultative style."

Michael FairweatherMichael Fairweather
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Political Party: Independent

Michael Fairweather has been a business owner for most of his working life. He has also been a Justice of the Peace. Fairweather lives in Portarlington.

Key quote:


Cory WolvertonCory Wolverton
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Political Party: Greens (endorsed candidate)

Cory Wolverton is a social worker who works in the Greater Geelong area.

Key quote:

"The Bellarine has had sustained population growth for more than a decade as people are drawn to this beautiful part of the world. [I believe] that to maintain the Bellarine as a desirable place to live, an appropriate strategic vision for town boundaries, community facilities and public transport is essential."

Tom HarrisonTom Harrison
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Political Party: Independent (Former Labor)

Tom Harrison resides in Clifton Springs. He works for Australian Energy Upgrades (a Geelong based energy efficiency company) and has contributed to an enormous reduction of carbon over the past 3 years through the Victorian Energy Upgrades scheme. Harrison is also a casual proshop staff member at a golf course on the Bellarine.

Key quote:

"I believe Geelong can achieve a strong post COVID economy. Council should be ready to support strong economic growth and job creation, ans increase of improved and new, world class infrastructure and a strong, healthy and well-educated community."

Stephen John SimondsStephen John Simmonds
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Political Party: Independent

Stephen Simmonds previously ran for election at the 2017 Council Elections for Brownbill Ward.

Key quote:



Bellarine Ward produced some surprise results in 2017, put down largely due to voters in this ward being fiercely independent with their voting habits. Once preferences were distributed, at least two candidates missed out to other candidates who attained a lower primary vote. On current numbers, Stephanie Asher shouldn't have any trouble holding onto a quota in her own right. Jim Mason and Trent Sullivan are both at risk, though they should both benefit from a new personal vote which could help them hold on.

2017 Results

LIB Stephanie Asher 10,984 27.38%
IND Anne Elizabeth Brackley 4,605 11.48%
ALP Jim Mason 4,437 11.06%
IND Lindsay Ellis 3,691 9.20%
LIB Trent Sullivan 3,437 8.57%
AJP Naomi Adams 3,129 7.80%
LIB Tom Roe 2,501 6.23%
LIB Denis O'Bryan 1,879
IND Art Sims 1,698
IND Stewart Webb 1,622
IND John Van Beveren 1,178
IND Petra Goerschel 954
  TOTALS 42,788 75.91% turnout

© Matt Hrkac 2011 - 2021 | ABN: 55 481 801 961
Users Online: 2
Guests: 2
Users: 0