Home Opinion & Analysis Election Guides Support My Work

Running as a candidate? Got Feedback? Like this? Give $5

Geelong Wards

Bellarine Ward Brownbill Ward Kardinia Ward Windermere Ward

2020 City of Greater Geelong Council Elections

The City of Greater Geelong is located around the Corio Bay in Victoria's south west and is centered on Geelong itself as well as its suburbs and some of its surrounding towns and rural localities. It currently elects 11 Councilors by proportional representation across four multi-member wards.



Bellarine Ward covers the Bellarine Peninsula (minus parts of Point Lonsdale and Queenscliff, which are situated in the Borough of Queenscliff). It elects three councilors.


Brownbill Ward is situated in central, eastern and western suburbs of Geelong. Most of this area is generally middle-class, though the eastern parts tend to be poorer working class areas. It elects three councilors.


Kardinia Ward covers Geelong's suburbs situated south of the Barwon River, including the Armstrong Creek growth area. This area is mostly middle-class with areas of affluence in the western parts of this ward. It elects three councilors.


Windermere ward covers Geelong's northern suburbs, as well as Lara and the rural townships of Little River, Anakie and Balliang. Most of this area is working-class. It elects two councilors.

© Matt Hrkac 2011 - 2021 | ABN: 55 481 801 961

In the spirit of reconciliation I acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community on which I live and work. I pay my sincerist respects to all Elders past and present. I live on unceded lands of the Wathaurong (Wadda Wurrung) People of the Kulin Nation.