Return to blog index

09 October 2020
By Matt Hrkac

Geelong Council 2020: Brownbill Ward

This is part of a series of posts for the 2020 City of Greater Geelong Council Elections.

Brownbill Ward takes in Geelong's central suburbs. Demographically, the ward can be divided into three parts: the low-income working class eastern suburbs of Newcomb, Whittington and St Albans Park, the more upmarket and gentrified/gentrifying central/western suburbs of East Geelong, South Geelong, Newtown, Geelong West, and Manifold Heights; and the working class/multicultural outer west and inner north, consisting of North Geelong, Herne Hill, Hamlyn Heights, Bell Park and Bell Post Hill. The three incumbent Councillors are Eddy Kontelj, Sarah Mansfield and Peter Murrihy.

The candidates standing for election in this ward are as follows (in ballot paper order):

  • Sandi Dwyer (Independent/Put Climate First Alliance)
  • Bernie Franke (Independent)
  • Alex Csar (Independent Labor)
  • Peter Murrihy (Independent)
  • Stretch Kontelj (Independent Liberal)
  • Sarah Mansfield (Greens)
  • Eddy Kontelj (Independent)
  • Gabriel Wenyika (Independent)
  • Dean Frederick Hope (Independent)
  • Louis Hehir (Independent Labor)
  • Jose Rodrigeus (Independent)
  • Melissa Cadwell (Independent Labor)

Audience participation:

Read more

About the author:

Matt Hrkac is a writer and photographer based in Geelong. He has particular interests in politics, elections, social movements and the trade union movement. If you like what you see here, please consider giving a small donation to help cover the expenses.

Have your say

Display Name *:
Email *:

Total comments: 0